Collection Development Lists
NEKLS Resources
Collection Development - The Basics
ALSA Collection Development Document
Youth RA and Collection Development Resources
From Jennifer McCulley
 Sources for Collection Development and RA pdf 
Youth Collection Development Resources
Retrospective Selection Aids
The Horn Book Guide (http://www.hbook.com)
The Horn Book Guide comes out twice a year and prints short, critical summaries (about 60 words per book) of the reviewed books and, with approximately 2,000 entries per volume, covers the majority of publications from juvenile publishers. Each book receives a numerical rating: 1 is outstanding; 2 is superior; 3 is recommended or satisfactory; 4 is recommended with minor flaws; 5 is marginal; 6 is unacceptable.
 
 
Ebsco Core Collection Databases (http://www.corecollections.net/)
Access can be bought for the following: Children’s Core Collection, Fiction Core Collection, Nonfiction Core Collection, Graphic Novels Core Collection, Middle & Junior High Core Collection, and Senior High Core Collection.
 
Review Journals
Booklist  (http://www.ala.org/booklist)  Booklist is the official book-review journal of the American Library Association.  Books reviewed in Booklist are recommended for purchase in school libraries and small and medium-sized public libraries. Therefore, a book that doesn't have a Booklist review has, in effect, received a negative review: It is not recommended for purchase.
 
The Bulletin of the Center of Children’s Books (BCCB), or The Bulletin (http://bccb.ischool.illinois.edu/)
The Bulletin is selective about the books it reviews, choosing books that the editorial staff thinks contain something subscribers want to know about, whether it be subject, theme, approach, characterization or curriculum use.
 
The Horn Book Magazine (http://www.hbook.com/) As with Booklist, reviews in The Horn Book Magazine indicate a recommendation for purchase.
 
Kirkus Reviews (http://www.kirkusreviews.com) Kirkus Reviews is published twice a month and includes reviews of books for both adults and children and teens. It has a fairly robust amount of content available free online.
 
 
Publishers Weekly (http://www.publishersweekly.com/pw/home/index.html) As the title suggests, Publishers Weekly is an industry-focused journal published on a weekly basis, targeting the bookstore market. Reviews of picture books and middle-grade and teen fiction predominate, with occasional coverage of high-profile board books and nonfiction.
 
School Library Journal (SLJ) (http://www.schoollibraryjournal.com/) School Library Journal reviews media (including subscription databases, DVDs, and audio books) and books (including some adult books and reference materials) for children in grades K-12.
 
VOYA: Voice of Youth Advocates in Libraries (http://www.voya.com)  VOYA exclusively addresses librarians and educators who serve young adults.  This bimonthly publication reviews books (including adult publications and reference books) and non-print (including electronic media, 

OTHER NEKLS SITES


SITES HOSTED BY NEKLS